Enabling Xbox LIVE on your Phone

We’ve had a small number of folks mention that they can’t connect to Wordament after the update. In every case so far (knock on wood), it’s been due to the Phone having Xbox LIVE disabled. Here’s how you can fix that:

  • From the phone’s Home screen, go to Settings.
  • In Settings, pivot over to applications
  • Tap on games
  • Make sure that Connect with Xbox LIVE is set to On.

Let us know if you have any trouble: wordament@microsoft.com

Jason / Black Snapper

About Wordament

Wordament is a fun and addictive word game from You vs. the Internet, a Microsoft Studio.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Enabling Xbox LIVE on your Phone

  1. jader3rd says:

    Maybe I screwed this up, because I heard about the update (windowsteamblog), didn’t see an update in the Marketplace (perhaps I’m impatient), so I uninstalled Wordament and reinstalled it. I lost my frenimies!
    Some feedback on the update.
    1) Sounds are annoying, I’m glad I found a way to turn them off.
    2) The space between each letter tile is too great. It looks like the space was increased from previously.
    3) The background is distracting. During load it’s fine, but during a game I’m finding myself not being able to find as much, and I think that the “colorful” background is messing with my minds limited word searching capabilities. Rolling back to a monocrhome background would be appreciated.
    Oh, and congradulations on the update.

  2. jon says:

    Wow. This is a huge fail. And sad that you broke it just to be a part of MS.

    The ratings are divebombing because of this. You should issue a new version immediately.

    I turned off Xbox live in a (likely misguided) attempt to save battery life some time ago. But didn’t think to try your site for a week of failed attempts to play.

    • Wordament says:

      We are. However, this is user error for turning off Xbox LIVE and attempting to play an Xbox LIVE game. All we can do in our next update is inform the user of their choice.

  3. jowilki says:

    Thanks for this article; it solved my problem. However, calling this a “user error” is inaccurate and sounds snarky when I assume you’re trying to be helpful. I had the XBox live setting turned off as well and have continued to play several other “XBox Live” games without a problem. Anyway, I’m sure you’re working on it for your next update…so thanks! I work in development as well, so I know how people blow things out of proportion and are super demanding. It’s a great game and I’m sure your ratings will be fine 🙂

    • Wordament says:

      Fair, “user error” isn’t our best choice of words. It’s a “user setting” that in practice could cause any of your Xbox LIVE games to not function properly.

Comments are closed.